NARAL Pro-Choice America About Our Bloggers Contact Us Disclaimer RSS Feed

Celebrating New Pro-Choice Faces in the U.S. Senate and House!

| | Comments (2) | TrackBacks (0)

The verdict is clearly in: 2012 was a great year for choice at the polls!

Of course, we couldn't be prouder of President Barack Obama.

But you may not know that many other NARAL Pro-Choice America PAC-endorsed candidates won their races.

This cycle, NARAL Pro-Choice America PAC contributed more than $709,000 to federal candidates and committees. These contributions top the PAC's totals in 2010 and almost double them from 2008! We're a people-powered PAC, so that means that our members stepped up big time.

What did these contributions mean for our PAC-endorsed candidates? As of today, 79 of the 105 U.S. House and Senate candidates that NARAL Pro-Choice America PAC endorsed and contributed to have won their races.

On top of all that good news, we are thrilled to welcome 43 new pro-choice faces to Congress! Of these incoming members, 23 women and men represent pro-choice pickups - candidates who defeated mixed or anti-choice members.

We welcome all the new pro-choice advocates:

U.S. Senate:
Chris Murphy (D-CT)
Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
Angus King (I-ME)
Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

U.S. House of Representatives:
Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-01)
Krysten Sinema (AZ-09)
Ami Bera (CA-07)
Scott Peters (CA-52)
Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
Julia Brownley (CA-26)
Tony Cardenas (CA-29)
Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35)
Raul Ruiz (CA-36)
Mark Takano (CA-41)
Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)
Alan Grayson (FL-09)
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Lois Frankel (FL-22)
Joe Garcia (FL-26)
Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02)
Tammy Duckworth (IL-08)
Brad Schneider (IL-10)
Bill Foster (IL-11)
Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
John Delaney (MD-06)
Joseph Kennedy III (MA-04)
Dan Kildee (MI-05)
Dina Titus (NV-01)
Steven Horsford (NV-04)
Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01)
Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02)
Donald Payne, Jr. (NJ-09)
Michelle Lujan-Grisham (NM-01)
Grace Meng (NY-06)
Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08)
Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)
Dan Maffei (NY-24)
Joyce Beatty (OH-03)
Beto O'Rourke (TX-16)
Joaquin Castro (TX-20)
Pete Gallego (TX-23)
Marc Veasey (TX-33)
Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Derek Kilmer (WA-06)
Denny Heck (WA-10)
Mark Pocan (WI-02)

We welcome them, and look forward to working together to ensure a woman's right to choose!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Facebook Twitter YouTube Tumblr flickr
Donate Take Action
In Your State Share Your Story
Get email updates from NARAL Pro-Choice America:
Search the Blog
Featured Video
Most Recent Entries